what are my chances? how long do I wait for?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DearDoc2Be

Reaction score
Hey,
So I am a senior and applied to med school for the 2023 cycle. (not taking any gap year)
I am currently at a prestigious uni majoring in engineering.
I didn't know I wanted to go into medicine, so my profile is more engineering less medical, but here goes. This is the application I applied with. I submitted my primary in June (end) and secondaries in august (end).
Here is the kickoff- I am an international student, so my chances are lower.
GPA: 3.66 (but this semester will get a 4.0 so it will bump it up)
MCAT: int attempt 507, second 511. I studied for less than 1 month and 2 month for these respectively. Dont know if should study for 3-4 months and reapply.
Profile- have 2 medical related patents granted
lots of research in research lab, projects, with team and so on. Long term projects that show results, commitment and teamwork.
my clinical experiences are mostly taking care of meager grandparents with problems, and my family during covid. I shadowed for only 20 hours while applying but for 60 more in the OR over the summer 22.
other skills- into a lot of sports, havnt played professionally at uni tho. Writing minor, have a few books published.
I got a couple of awards, grants and scholarships in research, writing and had my entire tuition paid by uni in undergrad (a merit and need based scholarship).
I am applying to both DO and MD schools. So far, I got into 2 DO schools, and rejected from a few MD but am still waiting on my prime choices like Harvard, Stanford, Hopkins, etc.
I just dont know what the admissions committee like, how they think, will they want me, how being an international student is going to be different. I know my mcat is low. i have my reasons for it, could probably bump it if I retook it, but have already applied this cycle with this.