What can I do to practice in a Scandinavian country? (matriculating US student)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eng2MedStu

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will go to medical school in the US, but would eventually like to practice in Norway, Denmark, Finland, or Sweden (by order of preference). Have any of you made the leap from the USA to one of these countries before? What can I do to maximize my chances of immigrating successfully?

Specifics:
  • I'm an MD/PhD student. Normally in the US, I would do residency --> postdoc --> fellowship --> (finally!) doctor/professor combo. I'm okay with just doing research/teaching or just practicing, if one choice makes immigration easier.
  • No EU citizenship :( but I have Canadian and American citizenship. (Not sure if relevant, but I'm of Chinese ethnicity).
  • I'm fluent in English and have taken college-level courses in French. I plan to continue learning/practicing French over the next eight years at least. Unfortunately, this is probably Canadian-sounding French (living near the border and all).
  • I haven't chosen a specialty yet and plan to choose one that meshes will with my engineering background. So far, I've enjoyed shadowing in opthamology, neurology, and gastroenterology the most. I don't think surgery would suit me.

Members don't see this ad.