What could I possibly do on top of MCAT studying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rahul0774

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am scheduled to take the MCAT on August 21st. I am currently a sophomore, but I will have completed all of the necessary prereqs by the end of this semester (I am currently taking Orgo II and Physics II). My mind has been made up for months. I'm going to studying for the entire summer using SN2ed's schedule, and I have already collected all of the appropriate prep material. I am well aware that this exam is more of a marathon rather than just a simple sprint. I have no problem with allocating my entire summer to just MCAT studying and nothing else. However, could I possibly undertake regular volunteering opportunities, clinical and non-clinical, on top of my studies? Thank you in advance for any advice that you are able to send my way.

Members don't see this ad.

By utilizing your time not spent studying in constructive ways...?

Reactions: 1 user
I suppose the wording in my title/post is a bit vague. I have ideas of what I want to do i.e. shadowing, volunteering, etc. I just want to know if undertaking other responsibilities outside of just studying for the MCAT would be feasible/advisable. I know that the old adage "to each his own" does apply here. I realize that I, alone, am the best judge of my own abilities and can determine whether or not I am capable of balancing studying with other activities. I am simply searching for anecdotal evidence in support of or against the possible courses of action that I have laid out.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm in your same position man. I'll be working 20-25 hours a week as scribing, since I scribe already. 2 days out of 7 is fine. However if you can't handle doing two things at once, don't force it.