What do medical students not ask about enough during residency interviews?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StilgarMD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm interviewing soon, and I've been preparing for the inevitable 'do you have any questions for me?' part. I've seen some good suggestions, but I'm curious whether there is anything surprisingly important that, as a med student, I should be asking about and which may conceivably factor into our decision. things like call schedule, meal cards, parental benefits, stipends, didactic protection are already on my mind, but I'm wondering if there is something that folks with experience may recommend inquiring about.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Don't ask about logistical things you can Google or nitpicky details that will probably be shared at the beginning of the interview day. You can usually find that on the GME website. If not, you can ask residents during lunch or dinner. It's not a good use of precious 1:1 interviewing time. It's important to reflect on what the most important factors are for you: location, community, family concerns, patient population, research opportunities.

It's a chance for you to interview the residency program. Lots of good questions that can be framed from a place of curiosity and wanting to find the best fit for you. "I'm really looking to find the best fit program for me. Can you tell me what kind of person would do well in residency here?" You can then use that opportunity to highlight the areas in your application that fit into that.

It's also an opportunity to reassure the interviewer about any misgivings on your application. "Do you have any concerns about my application?" is a great question to clear up anything that may have not been communicated well or that they may have mistaken about you.

Source: Was on the resident selection committee.

Reactions: 5 users