What do programs look for?? FAQ

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Malignant Fibromyalgia

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got a lot out of this forum when I was a medical student. So now that I'm on the other side I would like to give back. I am in the residency leadership at program X. Every year, we review hundreds of applications, and here are the lessons learned. Keep in mind, much of this is my personal opinion and others might disagree.

What do you look for in an application?

I go straight to the SLOES and start at the bottom, where you are compared to your classmates in 2 categories. Take a look at a copy of a SLOE. It is very informative and will tell you how you will be judged. Then I read the narrative summary. I might skim your other letters, looking for red flags, but if it is not an EM letter and they don't call you an axe murderer I don't care.

I know the SLOE can be harsh, but we really try to make it honest. Sorry, by definition not everyone can be top 10%.

I then skim your CV just to see if anything stands out. Then I skim your Dean's Letter for red flags. I don't care what you psych grade was.

I skim your personal statement. I read one once, and when I woke up I realized I never wanted to read one again. That said, others take a good look at them, so don't blow them off.

Next FAQ will be on what you SHOULD place on your personal statement. Gotta go work now.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 3 users
Honest question here...you say you look at SLOEs first...how much of a saving grace can an excellent SLOE from an ACGME residency program be for an individual with average stats. I guess I'm trying to gauge how much of a wow factor can an top notch SLOE give to an average joe kinda fella?

Define average stats. We will notice a 1,1 SLOE, but if you failed Step 1 three times it might not help much. This might be a good time to post the FAQ:

What are good step scores?