What do you typically do as a medical social worker in a hospital setting?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted830324

I'm just really curious what a medical SW does in the hospital setting. Do you work directly with the Physicians? Do you work on the interdisciplinary teams and rounds? What falls under your responsibility? What hours do you usually work? Whats the average salary of a medical SW?

Members don't see this ad.

First, I would like to say that I am a psychiatric social worker That works in a medical hospital. What I know about medical social work comes from brief periods where I've had to cover other responsibilities, I have spoke with past colleagues, or what I observe. In medical social work, at least from the experiences that I am aware of, primarily is concerned with addressing the social needs, family needs, And helping with disposition planning. So what that means is that the social worker is often involved with helping to connect people to resources outside of the hospital. the resources I'm talking about would include domestic violence shelters, homeless shelters, food pantries, Etc. The social workers in our Hospital also are in charge of helping getting people placed into nursing homes. There are entire processes involved around assessments referrals and communication with outside agencies to get people adequately placed into other Healthcare facilities outside of a hospital. in Social Work settings that involve working with families, the medical social worker may be involved with facilitating or helping the patient who for whatever reason has DCS involved in their life. I know in the hospital where I work, I have also helped with making arrangements 2 facilitate additional Steps needed to facilitate adoptions. The medical social worker will do a psychosocial assessment that will broadly look to see if someone has problems related to drug use or mental illness. The m