What do you want out of your psych rotation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nasrudin

Apropos of Nothing
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a resident who will be with a few medical students on my next block. I specifically chose a less academic program because I don't like formal academics--culturally or practically. But am in the position of being with a few medical students regardless.

I love psych. I want you to have enough respect for my field to not consult me for a crying patient. I'd love for you to want join the field. But I would never hold it against you for not.

I don't mind brushing up on few shelf-worthy topics to present a few key things to you. I don't care if you want to go home early. I did. Still do, but can't. I'll try to send you home early as often as possible.

How do I puncture the facade of med student fake interest to get to a point where we can both get something we want. I just want to facilitate that process quickly. You're presence slows me down more than anything. So all I want is to deliver a good bargain between us and keep it moving.

What do you want out of this rotation? And how do we figure that out quickly and get to it?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 6 users
I thought that the most important thing I learned in a psych rotation was when to consult psych. Next most important was how to take a better history, especially the social history. Learned how to read brain MRIs a little better, maybe you can go through the differences between t1, t2 and all that because I suck at that. Also understanding meds, especially for depression because everyone and their mothers is on an ssri. Besides that, I just wanted to go home early but never did.

I am a 4th yr going into Psychiatry so I have a different perspective. I love Psy and will only do that.