What if you lie on med school applications...?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

luckyperson

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok I would never do this but how do the med schools confirm that the people aren't lying on the resumes? I have no clinical experience right now but can I really go ahead and write down I have 150 hours and get away with it?

Members don't see this ad.

Yeah you can... though if you are caught - you are screwed... kiss med school good bye

Reactions: 1 users
You have to put down contact people for the experience. You have to do a write up explaining the experience. If you want to roll the dice on those, be my guest.

And if you get caught you're not getting into med school.

Members don't see this ad :)
What if you put down a fake experience and then put your friend as the contact, and told the friend to lie for you if they called? Obviously that would be a horrible thing to do, but I wonder if you could get away with it...

Reactions: 2 users
150 is not worth telling a lie for
Put down a thousand, or something more.. hahaha

I'd bet quite a bit that a shocking number of people do this every single cycle and get away with. And a very large number exaggerate hours of service or shadowing, contributions to clubs they were in, etc.

Reactions: 6 users
quantity matters less than quality.

Reactions: 5 users
I've had to sign many terms and conditions on applications that say even if you are accepted, if they find out you lied on the application, they will terminate that acceptance immediately. Two years into med school? Kicked out. Graduated with your MD? Stripped of your degree. So I wouldn't risk it at all. If there are holes in your application, fill them with real experiences.

Reactions: 9 users
It's not worth it, man. I doubt a little lie, if uncaught, is enough to make a losing application win. However, if caught, you are done.

Reactions: 1 user