What kind of EC's set you apart for Top Tier Medical Schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NJ98

Membership Revoked
Removed
Reaction score
Understanding that top tier med-schools are a crap shoot for anyone, apart from the stellar GPA and MCAT stats, what components of EC set an applicant apart for top tier medical schools? Lets say you have 150+ hours of shadowing, 150+ hours of clinical volunteering, and 100 hours of non-clinical, what kind of achievements really give an applicant a good chance for top tier medical schools? I know there's a wide variety but just some examples or guidance would be great!

EDIT: it seems as though from my post im solely asking about checking off boxes on my resume, but not exactly. For example, i am a huge oil painter and actually am very proud of the work i do. I am very passionate about it, how could i do anything with this that could help with my medical journey/fit my narrative?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
-Longevity: something you have worked on for a long time
-Something you can convey passion
-Something that ties in with your overall narrative

It all comes down to how you write and reflect about the activity moreso than the activity itself.

Reactions: 7 users
150 hours is a lot of shadowing. I've heard here on SDN that 50 is more than sufficient.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
How many times does this need to be asked? How about instead of asking which boxes you need to check, you go out and find something that you are passionate about? That will help you stand out.

• Haha
  • Okay...
Reactions: 14 users
This thread is just begging Walter to come in with his NASA astronaut/Peace Corps/military hero spiel lmao.