What should I do? post-bac or smp?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dasanicc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, i know there are tons of questions like this but I just want to get some more opinions.

I graduated with departmental honors (did a year of undergrad research but was not published) 2 years ago from university in NYC w/ cGPA of 3.2 and sGPA of 2.8. I was in premed for undergrad but I was young and foolish so I did not do as well as I hope. I also have a GRE score of 319 but I have NOT yet taken the MCAT because I want to be extremely confident about my science knowledge before I take it and just get a mediocre score. I have since gained lots of hands on experience working in a health clinic and also in the EMS field. I volunteer and currently work as 911 EMT and am also finishing up paramedic school, where I learned first hand what it means to be a healthcare provider and how to handle medical emergencies by myself with limited resources. It was an eye-opening experience and I am thankful to have this opportunity. I plan on continuing to work as paramedic while I attend school again not because of "just how good it will look on resume" but because I truly want to be able to provide medical care to those in need when I can.

Now I know the road down the line is going to be very long and difficult but I am ready to make the commitment. The question is, what should I do? Do a post-bac or do a SMP?
Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)