What to do after graduating from medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phamdmd

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm new to this sdn thread and I wanted to know more about residency and fellowship after graduating. I really have no idea what this means, can someone fill me in? After I graduate from a medical school, how long will it take until I can open up my own practice as a physician? Right now, I am a second year at UCI, and I want to go to UCI medical school. I'm just maintaining my GPA and plan on taking the MCATS this summer. I was wondering if anyone can just fill me in on what goes on after the 4 years of medical school. Thank you all!!:laugh:

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys. I'm new to this sdn thread and I wanted to know more about residency and fellowship after graduating. I really have no idea what this means, can someone fill me in? After I graduate from a medical school, how long will it take until I can open up my own practice as a physician? Right now, I am a second year at UCI, and I want to go to UCI medical school. I'm just maintaining my GPA and plan on taking the MCATS this summer. I was wondering if anyone can just fill me in on what goes on after the 4 years of medical school. Thank you all!!:laugh:

After you graduate from medical school, you have an MD degree, but no medical license. You apply for a residency program. After 1 year, you get your licesnse, and can quit and do whatever you want. However, if you want to actually work in a hospital or get paid by insurance, you need to complete a residency. Residencies vary in time from 2 to 7 years. After your residency, you are now a board eligable physician. Some doctors choose to do additional training in the form of fellowships. These range from 1 to 5 years.