Other OT-Related Information What to Wear to Volunteer?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WantToBeAnOT23

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! I am an undergrad who is going to start volunteering at Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago soon (WOOO!!!!!) and they recently got rid of the scrubs they had for volunteers to wear for a short time. We are now required to wear "buisness casual" (no jeans, leggings, athletic pants) but also are asked to wear closed toed shoes. Any idea what to wear? I think most of the people there wear gym shoes but idk what to wear with them to not look weird?

Also if anyone else has volunteered at RIC let me know if you liked it/if it helped you get into grad school/if there's anything you think I should know about it! They say it's the best in the country so I'm SO excited!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Any idea what to wear? I think most of the people there wear gym shoes but idk what to wear with them to not look weird?

When I interned this summer, the staff also did not wear scrubs. I didn't have a dress code besides closed toed shoes, but I wore khakis and a plain shirt and then I wore a more casual sneaker (nothing too sporty so it didn't look too bad with the khakis).

At one of my volunteer sites we wore black slacks and gym shoes. Weird combo but it worked with everyone doing it. Can you look at their website and try to look at pictures? That's what I would do. If not don't worry about it, and wear khakis or black slacks the first day and then adjust to what everyone else is wearing.

Congrats on the volunteering gig!
I really enjoy volunteering at RIC - I have been there a year and a half, and I am also working as a rehab aide on the weekends.