Which MPH has the most job opportunities?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

adymech

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I am a practising dentist in India. I am considering applying for a MPH program in US. I did some prelim research on various schools' websites, and found that there are 4-7 streams of MPH that one must pick from - Epidemiology, Biostats, Public Health, Health Education, Env and Occ Health...

I have eliminated Biostats, mainly due to my poor math. One of the key criteria for selection is obviously the max job opportunities available.

Is there some stats available showing which of these streams has the most jobs available in US?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

If anyone has numbers on job opportunities for specific concentrations, I would really love to see them too-- I looked for this exact information when applying and couldn't find much.

My impression is subjective from reading these boards and gradcafe, looking at job postings in the field, BLS projections for job growth of statisticians and epidemiologists (unfortunately they don't break out biostatisticians or other public health practitioners specifically, and the reports are mostly or entirely US-specific), and reading the public work (blogs, etc.) of people working in public health. However, the opinion in all of these places is overwhelmingly that biostatistics and epidemiology are the most marketable, with probably an edge for biostats. And that if you choose a different concentration, making sure to gain quantitative or technical skills will make you more marketable within your field.