Which path should I choose?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phobic

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I (30M single, no kids) am currently a Respiratory Therapist seeking to further my medical education. I have a rough academic past where I have 21 units of F grades that I failed to know to withdraw 12 years ago before RT school. I finished my BS R T degree and have a 3.5 GPA. My premed prerequisites are a 3.8 GPA. However, when my 21 units of F are factored in, my cGPA and sGPA are merely 3.1 and 3.2, respectively.

My options are pretty limited - I am aware. I have not taken the MCAT, but I wouldn't wager that I could pull off something in the 90th percentile. Same with the GRE. I have listed my most favorable option as an A A due to my interests in work-life balance, income, and opportunity cost. However, I fear that I will eventually get to a point where I have gone and become a provider instead due to the limiting nature of the work and scope of practice itself. I also looked into becoming a DPM but on SDN I found a lot of negative feedback regarding the future of DPM and the opportunity cost to income ratio being horrible. I do realize I have the option of going to the Caribbean and have considered deploying survivorship bias and going through it and playing the SOAP game instead of the match to increase my chances.

I guess my question is because of my age (30) I realize that A A would be the fastest route (2.5 years), but I fear that I will not get what I want out of the limited scope of practice, dealing with CRNA politics, and decreasing anesthesia reimbursement rates (I realize it's decreasing in a lot of fields too). I believe it might become the next Pharmacy or Optometry with all the schools pumping out anesthesia providers which would make the salary get state at around what it is now.