Who gets MCAT tutoring?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Brainsucker

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a med student doing a research year between 3rd and 4th year. I'm trying to figure out if doing some MCAT tutoring be a good way to make some money. Who pays for Princeton Review and Kaplan tutoring? Would you consider working with a med student outside of those companies? It'd certainly cost you less.

In terms of credentials, I'm at a fancy school, I had various undergrad honors (biochem major) and I had a kickass MCAT.

I'm not asking anyone for a job, just looking to see what the market is like.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a med student doing a research year between 3rd and 4th year. I'm trying to figure out if doing some MCAT tutoring be a good way to make some money. Who pays for Princeton Review and Kaplan tutoring? Would you consider working with a med student outside of those companies? It'd certainly cost you less.

In terms of credentials, I'm at a fancy school, I had various undergrad honors (biochem major) and I had a kickass MCAT.

I dunno if I would pay for the tutoring. Princeton review is really expensive, like around 6k. The only problem for me would be a track record; I'd like to know how your other students did on the mcat and how many students you had. So I'd get one if it was within reasonable price and if they had some decent students, but these two factors are in reality probably inversely proportional.

I think it completely depends on where you are. My guess would be that some of the big cities on the east coast would have decent demand for private (non-affiliated) MCAT tutors, but I wouldn't hazard a guess regarding the market in San Francisco. Good luck. Tutoring is good money for enjoyable work if you can get it.

Members don't see this ad :)