Who here works on X-ray crystallography to resolve protein structures?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Chiquita

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. I want to hear pros and cons of working in a lab doing X-ray crystallography to resolve protein structures, then go after its function in a traditional way (by that I mean doing typical molecular/biochemical work). I am a layperson in terms of X-ray crystallography so go easy on me. No jargons. ;)

Members don't see this ad.

Dr. Chiquita said:
Hey guys. I want to hear pros and cons of working in a lab doing X-ray crystallography to resolve protein structures, then go after its function in a traditional way (by that I mean doing typical molecular/biochemical work). I am a layperson in terms of X-ray crystallography so go easy on me. No jargons. ;)

I have been working in X-ray crystallography for about 4-5 years now (not full time continuously though). It's a very frustrating field to work in since you don't really get any really meaningful results until the end (i.e. when you solved the structure). Hence, it's not a good field to work in if you're very result oriented. It's quite a bit of gamble because you're project is usually all or nothing. Until you get the structure, people outside of the field probably will not appreciate your progress. You may be able to do some biochemistry along the way, but it's usually very hard to draw any strong conclusions from in vitro studies without the support of a structure. But if you have the determination and work ethic to persist in this field, it can be very rewarding. A single structure can reveal an important point that may take 5-6 experiments to show. And most structure papers publish very well (usually impact factor greater than 5) no matter how unimportant the structure may be. And for the hard projects, you get to excise quite bit of creativity because most problems are not s