who "owns" a case to write up?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

velouria

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
i'm a medicine resident rotating on radiology and just saw a really cool medicine case i'd like to write up & try to get published. the patient is admitted to a surgical service. technically i wasn't involved, i just happened to be around when the films were brought up.
so, if i were to pursue this write up, would i have to talk with:
1. the radiology attending
2. the surgery attending
3. a medicine attending/mentor
4. none of the above?
in other words, who "owns" this case? do i have to get anybody's permission? presumably nobody else wants to write it up, but i can't say for sure.
thanks for any advice

Members don't see this ad.

i'm a medicine resident rotating on radiology and just saw a really cool medicine case i'd like to write up & try to get published. the patient is admitted to a surgical service. technically i wasn't involved, i just happened to be around when the films were brought up.
so, if i were to pursue this write up, would i have to talk with:
1. the radiology attending
2. the surgery attending
3. a medicine attending/mentor
4. none of the above?
in other words, who "owns" this case? do i have to get anybody's permission? presumably nobody else wants to write it up, but i can't say for sure.
thanks for any advice

The pt was admitted to surgery so I assume it's a surgical case. You may want to talk to the surgery attending about it. And like what was suggested to you, if it involves the film, you'll also want to get the radiology attending involved as well.