Who qualifies as a "supervisor"?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AerialPT

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! Sticky situation here... Last summer I volunteered as a gymnastics coach at a local YMCA. This was a YMCA that I competed at for over 10 years (until I graduated high school) so naturally I wanted to come back to help out there. The coordinator for the program is the parent of one of my former teammates and has known me since I was about 8 years old. Would it be acceptable for me to ask her for a letter of recommendation as a supervisor for my volunteer hours? I know one of the questions that is asked on the LOR form is how long you have known the applicant, so I am concerned that they will be suspicious that she has known me for over a decade...

Members don't see this ad.

The way I see it, lots of schools emphasize that references are "someone who can speak to your character/professionalism/etc", and some schools (UW-Lacrosse for example) even go so far as to say "It is not advisable to have a physical therapist who you shadowed for a short period of time write you a letter of recommendation." I think a reference who has known you for years is better able to evaluate your character than what I'll have in my situation, a PT who has known me for about 50 hours, and professors I had a few classes with. I'd say you could consider her a supervisor if you worked with her and had some contact while you were volunteering at the program. Did she actually act as your supervisor while you were helping out at the program? If so, I think she'll make a great reference.

PT who has known me for about 50 hours, and professors I had a few classes with