PhD/PsyD Will this show on a criminal background check/cause problems with the VA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wolf46324

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a counseling psych PhD student hoping to work for the VA. Last year, I went through a really horrible period in my life (my LTR ended suddenly, a major research project crashed and burned due to the funding falling out and ended up delaying my program completion, major family issues, etc), and I became pretty situationally depressed. I went through a brief period of notable suicidality and made some erroneously worded statements that really worried my family (nothing at all referencing homicidality or anything like that). They called the police, who made me go to the ER. I talked to the attending, explained that I made some overly dramatic statements which I regretted and that I was safe and fine and had no intention or serious thoughts of hurting myself or anyone else. The physician recognized I seemed calm and not in any sort of danger and basically said, "yeah, you're fine." He gave me a "diagnosis" of "temporary reactive depression," and I went home with no issue or hospital admittance. I was required to go to the ER but wasn't placed on anything like a 72 hold or anything like that. No arrest, charges, no court order, nothing like that. No (other?) legal issues, not even a traffic violation.

Will being required to go the ER show up on a criminal background check/cause issues with VA employment?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

You didn't commit a crime and you weren't charged or convicted, so I think you're safe.

Reactions: 1 user
Thanks. My concern would be the recent EO merging mental health and criminal records, although it sounded like that only applied to social security and actual involuntary admittances.

Members don't see this ad :)