Wondering if MD/PhD is for me

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

_ian

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an undergrad entering my sophomore year at Michigan, and I'm interested in neuroscience. I'm not certain precisely what field within the study I intend to go into just yet, but I've been working in a lab that focuses on learning and memory, and it seems like a good fit.

I intend to stay in academia; my goal is to become a tenured professor at a university. Because of this, I'm not entirely sure what use the medical degree would have practically. Right now, I'm deciding between just a PhD or an MD and PhD. I'm quite willing to do the work for both degrees if I am convinced that the extra years to get the MD will help me in the long run. Since my interests lie in research and teaching, I'm uncertain how relevant a medical degree would be to my study. I can't think of many things I want to do that I could do with an MD/PhD that I couldn't with just a PhD.

So, the questions I have are:

1) I'm afraid of post-doc limbo. This has been my driving factor for looking into MD/PhD programs; I am very motivated to work my butt off to get ahead and get noticed in order to secure a nice job as early in life as possible. Would the MD make it easier to land these jobs?

2) How much time commitment should I expect if going the research route? I know 7-8 years for the MD/PhD, but what comes after? Is residency necessary? Should I expect to still do a few years post-doc? Compared to just a straight up five-year PhD program, should I expect more or less time commitment between starting graduate school and landing the job?