Working for and with family members

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cdmOMR

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I was wondering if there are fellow SDNers out there who graduated dental school to work for a family member (notably and uncle, aunt, cousin, etc)? Is your situation successful? Are both members benefiting?

This is a synopsis of my situation if people are interested in reading, but not necessary to answer the above Q:

I graduated dental school in May and set up to work with my uncle as an associate. He owns a practice at which he is the sole practitioner with two hygienists. The practice is in a well established suburban area of Chicago, hes been here for 20 years or so and has built up a pretty successful PPO practice. Nice new equipment, all digital, CEREC, etc. Although he has taken a hit in the last few years, he still manages to do pretty well. He works 3.5 days a week. Going into dental school I felt this was a great situation to walk into (of course this was in 2008 before the economy nosedived). And after discussing practicing with him, he was nice enough to expand his office and add a very nice new chair for me to be an associate.