working professional, need a plan for application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Seldonzin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
i've been working as a financial analyst at a hospital and recently been thinking about applying to med school. i understand how competitive it is, but i'd like to create a plan and work on submitting a competitive application.

my undergrad gpa was 3.0 and here the courses that i took that possibly count for pre-req:

physics 1: B+
physics 2: B
physics lab: A

chem 1: B+
chem lab: A-

writing 1: B+
writing 2: B

i've been working for a couple of years and feel that professionally i'm more successful than i was a student. i'd like to go back can finish my pre-reqs and take the mcats. are post-bacc programs more advantageous than just taking courses as a non-matriculated student? also,should i retake the courses i've already taken? what are some ways, as non traditional student, you've prepared yourself for applying? any suggestions?

thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Honestly, it depends when you took those courses. If I am not mistaken, I think you only have a certain amount of time to use your classes towards your pre-med requirements.

A post-bacc program in the sciences may be rough for you, since you don't appear to have the background to succeed in them. What would be the point of paying for a program which will hurt you rather than help you.

You will be good community service hours, work experience, and letters of recommendations in addition to strong GPA and MCAT score.

If I were in your position, I would set up an appointment with a medical school advisor at an institution near you and get your name in their system and have them guide you in the right direction. That is what I did, and now I have a solid plan to go by. Good luck.