Worried/bummed about GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Garurumon

a digivolving wolf
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I apologize in advance if I come across as melodramatic.

So 3rd year spring grades came in and despite my best efforts, I got B's in microbiology and organic chemistry 2. I studied the hardest and longest for ochem 2 and of all the finals, it ended up being the worst grade (a low C). I did well on the past tests (2 high Bs and an A); I could've gotten an A if it weren't for that final. I have no upward or downward trend...I pretty much stayed the same throughout college up to now with a 3.29 cGPA. My single C is in general chemistry 2. I have As here and there, but a lot of Bs. What worries me is that I haven't made a single A in the science prereqs so far. They're all B's. My school uses whole letter grading, but I know that most of those are B+s, not good enough to break through the B/A barrier. I still have senior year to go: biochemistry and general physics 1 in the fall, and genetics, biostatistics, and general physics 2 in the spring. I'm considering post-bacc after graduating in 2016 to boost my GPA. I tend to be really hard on myself...I'm the kind of person who stews over bad grades instead of being happy with the good grades. Few things frustrate me more than studying hard only to find that my best still wasn't good enough. Any advice or encouragement for senior year and beyond would be much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Get A's in physics and biochemistry and any other science coures too. I imagine that your sGPA isn't much higher. You will need to raise your GPA post-graduation.

If you're getting consistent Bs, then you're a few adjustments away from breaking through the A- barrier.

Some questions I'd ask:
Are you studying frequently and efficiently?
Are you doing problems that are relevant to your exams?
How are your lab grades?