worth applying to MD/PhD with low MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CursoErgoSum

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I just got back my MCAT and got a 29S (11 PS/6 VR/ 12 BS), so the verbal is killer for MD/PhDs, but I want to see what you guys think if its even worth applying to lower tier MD/PhDs non-mstp with such a low verbal. I have great EC (intercollegiate athlete, voluteering, etc.) with 3+ years of research with 3 publications, 4.0 GPA in biomedical engineering in a good state school, with the 6 VR being the blemish on my app. English is my third language but I doubt that would pass as an excuse. But, you guys think I have a chance for MD/PhD? thanks in advance :oops:

Members don't see this ad.

you should re-take the MCAT. the verbal is a killer for MSTP, MD/PhD, MD, and even some DO schools have a 7 sectional cut off (word of mouf)

Hi all, I just got back my MCAT and got a 29S (11 PS/6 VR/ 12 BS), so the verbal is killer for MD/PhDs, but I want to see what you guys think if its even worth applying to lower tier MD/PhDs non-mstp with such a low verbal. I have great EC (intercollegiate athlete, voluteering, etc.) with 3+ years of research with 3 publications, 4.0 GPA in biomedical engineering in a good state school, with the 6 VR being the blemish on my app. English is my third language but I doubt that would pass as an excuse. But, you guys think I have a chance for MD/PhD? thanks in advance :oops:

My impression is that if English is not your first language, this is at least taken into consideration. I am not sure how much it is taken into consideration, but it is something I have heard discussed at our MSTP admin meetings, anyway.

Members don't see this ad :)