x

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sciontek11

Reaction score
x

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
MCAT: plan on studying/taking summer before junior year. Will have most prereqs done
Plan on taking the MCAT after taking the classes that provide the groundwork for the test.
This is a pivotal part of your application. Under-performance on this test will have significant repercussions.
A weak score always remains visible in the AMCAS application.

Reactions: 6 users
Hi! I am a current college sophomore just looking for advice or ways I can improve my activities and plans early on :)

cGPA: 3.96, sGPA: 3.95
School: T20 private
Major: Biochem + sociology, language minor
MCAT: plan on studying/taking summer before junior year. Will have most prereqs done

Clinical Experience: Hospice volunteer (10 hours), hospital volunteer (40 hours), starting position as a MA at a derm clinic. Planning on stopping hospital volunteering when I start my MA job but continuing hospice volunteering.

Non Clinical Volunteering: ~30 hours at campus women’s support center, ~10 hrs sorting and organizing clothing donations at a thrift store that also supports a local women’s support center. Will be starting a guidance/counseling peer role in the fall at my school.

Research: Spending summer doing part time wet lab research (along side starting my MA job). Will have 220-250 hours at the end of the summer. I also did research the summer before undergrad (400 hrs) that resulted in a poster but I’m not sure if this counts as I wasn’t officially in undergrad yet.

Leadership: Minor leadership roles in cultural club and women’s services center.

Other activities: working out & disc jockey at a radio station. Will be starting a sociology internship in the spring