yup, i read the "what are my chances" sticky, but...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BarberofSeville

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys,

i'm gonna be applying MD/PhD this cycle. I've got a 3.65 gpa, and my MCAT scores are coming out within the next few weeks, and I dont have a very accurate gauge of how I did, to be honest. i've got the standard clinical ECs (i did do some stuff in India) and random other ECs, like singing/working for my mom's investment company this summer in addition to research. my research letters are very solid, so those will help me out, and my essays should be good. my school list is below, what do you guys think? should i worry about adding more schools? I'm a cali resident too, btw

UCSF
UCLA
Stanford
USC
UCI
UCSD
Colorado
Harvard
Yale
WashU
UChicago
Northwestern
UPenn

my list is definitely top heavy, but my premed advisor at my school said (and i'm not sure how true this is), that GPA/MCAT don't matter that much at all (just to get me past the screening), and the biggest thing in MD/PhD admissions is my essays/interviews/lors, which i believe is going to be the only good parts about my application. is this a load of hocus pocus? I guess my concern is, will i get past the pre-secondary screening? any thoughts/advice would be greatly appreciated. I am an incoming senior, btw.

Members don't see this ad.

i've been out of the game a while but 3.65 seems kind of low to me for harvard or ucsf level schools. i believe your gpa also gets weighted by what undergraduate institution you went to. if i were you i'd include more lower-tier schools, especially if your mcat is below 35 ...