Some of my tips to share as a gay applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

class92006

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current first MD/PhD student at a good medical school, and I got a lot of inputs when I applied for med schools last year at SDN. Thus I would like to write this thread as a return to SDN (or I want to take a break from cellular biology Lol). As my title indicates, I want to talk about my experience as an openly gay applicant. Hopefully it will more or less help some of you.

About my background, please read my original thread from 2012 http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=915593

Briefly, I applied for MD/PhD. I really don't like the environment at TX, so I only applied for schools at gay-friendly areas, like West coast, New England, and Atlanta (Atlanta? Yes, I will explain later). Since I will spend at least 8 years at a place, I don't regret this decision. Overall I am a competitive applicant (check the original thread, the only update is that I retook my MCAT, so my final score is 37). I mainly applied for the top20 programs based on the research rankings. The school list was pretty much the same as what I indicated in the original thread plus UPenn. At the end, I got in two top5 programs, so I was very satisfied. I am just a first year medical student, rather than a doctor who have witnessed the change of LGBT environment in the medical field for decades, so I could only report what I have experienced.

Which medical schools are gay-friendly?