Looking for some advice and support - non trad, low GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jbunny

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody!

I've been reading a lot of posts here for some motivation, but this is my first time posting.

Just briefly, I was 16 when I graduated high school (2000), didn't really know what I wanted to do with my life, and I also launched a passive aggressive rebellion against my very proper, very indian parents, so my early college years have a lot of bad grades and repeats. (Even I was a little shocked when I saw it presented so starkly on the AACOMAS website!) I matured and managed to straighten myself out and complete a bachelors in Radiation Therapy (2009) thinking I'd work in the field for a few years and go back to school. Unfortunately, I graduated right in the middle of the big market slump, and couldn't find a job. So I kept my pharmacy tech job (10 years!) and recently (July 2012) started working as a clinical research coordinator (mostly oncology). Both of these jobs are part time, so I barely make anything and am constantly..unsatisfied.

I recently turned 30 this past summer and decided to bite the bullet and apply to med schools, which has been my dream for some time, but just seemed too unattainable.

I just have a few questions, and I hope some of you with more experience and insight will help me out.

1. What are my chances with DO schools with all the repeats? (about 6-7 years ago). Also, some of my non science pre-reqs are atleast 13 years old. Too old? My GPA is ns3.07, s3.15, c3.11. I have yet to take the MCAT (probably early 2014)