Example essays from non-traditional students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lanced

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-traditional student applying this Spring. I've read some example personal statements to get some background before beginning actually write my own. I have "Medical School Admissions", and "Essays that Worked" but neither seem to contain many essays by non-trads.

I'm just curious to see how others present their career switch in the personal statement. I've been told its something that any non-trad should address.

Does anyone know of some example personal statements from non-trads? Your own would be great if you'd be willing to post it.

Thanks everyone

Members don't see this ad.

If you give me about a month, then I'd be glad to let you see mine.

I have to finish these finals first.

Then, yes, next on the list is this personal statement....

Lanced said:
I'm a non-traditional student applying this Spring. I've read some example personal statements to get some background before beginning actually write my own. I have "Medical School Admissions", and "Essays that Worked" but neither seem to contain many essays by non-trads.

I'm just curious to see how others present their career switch in the personal statement. I've been told its something that any non-trad should address.

Does anyone know of some example personal statements from non-trads? Your own would be great if you'd be willing to post it.

Thanks everyone

I think those of us that are career switchers ABSOLUTELY have to address our career switch in the Personal Statement. Sorry that I don't have an example for you, but just answer the basic questions: What, When, Where, How, Why (esp. why) regarding your career change:

WHY are you switching careers, and WHY do you think medicine is the right career for you.