Take prereqs/raise gpa-3yrs vs. PhD-3-4 yrs then go to med school??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lucky Buck

Peeping Torgo
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was planning to begin tackling my remaining prereqs this summer; If you need more info, check out my previous posts which go into more detail about my background.

Basically, 3.0 ugpa - BA in History, 3.8 gpa - MS in Biomedical science (non-thesis). I still have to take Organic I,II; Physics I,II; Calc and Bio II lab; I have all As in the other prereqs. The plan was to take the prereqs and other coursework over the next 2 years to help raise my ugpa and prep for the MCAT. In total, I was looking at 3 years before I would begin med school (assuming I was accepted the first round). I am also 32 and time is becoming more precious.

Here's where my confusion comes into play....I have an opportunity to do a PhD. The PI is aware that I want to go to med school and has agreed to allow me to take the prereqs (1/semester) while working on the PhD. He has also agreed to support me, so I won't have to teach. Because I would be coming in with a MS (No one has to teach me how to use a pipet), the PI thinks 3-4 years is being realistic.

So....for the same amount of time, 4-5 years max (I'm aware that research is not always predictable) I could pick up a PhD, get some publications, get paid, and knockout my prereqs. Also, in case something were to happen 4 years down the road that prevented me from going to med school, I would have a PhD to do something with as opposed to being in the same boat credential wise in 3 years.

I am concerned about having options and utilizing my time and accomplishing as much as I can. I also have no idea what it would be like, for example to take Organic + lab and a Neuro grad class and get my work done in the lab and make everyone happy??