Question for Accepted Non-Trads from Science Background

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BluePhoenix

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok, I've heard one of the Adcoms answer to the following questions but it seems somewhat ridiculous.

For non-traditional people who have applied to med school...my question is regarding the prereq's. Here's my situation...I've taken all the coursework that I need however, I'm missing bio lab and orgo lab (unless a neuroscience lab portion would count for bio lab). The adcom said that I would have to take bio and orgo lab regardless of experience in bio and chemistry labs. However, I've just spent the past 4.5 years working in an organic chemistry lab doing organic chemistry and taking orgo lab would essentially be a giant waste of money and time as I've already DONE everything that they teach in orgo lab. I have a PhD in Applied Physics from a project that was basically all biology and chemistry. Has anyone heard of work experience being used to count for lab courses?

Members don't see this ad.

Ok, I've heard one of the Adcoms answer to the following questions but it seems somewhat ridiculous.