Computer Science to Medicine Thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Richie Truxillo

Your Scut Monkey Mentor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone. My name is Richie Truxillo and I am currently a 4th year medical student. I am your SDN Mentor for those of you who have your background in computer science or information technology. I understand that it can be a harrowing experience to switch fields, especially when going to medicine. This is why I am volunteering my time to help those of you who are switching gears from what I did.

To briefly tell a little bit about myself, I have been building computers and programming since the age of 10. I worked at Corning, Inc in their fiberoptics division doing database work for 5 years while receiving my B.S. in Computer Science from the University of North Carolina - Wilmington back in 2001. I then ran two internet businesses for a urology group for a couple of years...which is where I got serious about attending medical school. Since medicine was always in the back of my mind, I took my MCAT 3 times over a period of 5 years before getting my magic score that made the Allopathic and Osteopathic schools take notice. I decided on WVSOM as my school of choice because my best friend was there and most of the physicians I thought highly of were graduates of the program. Upon going to WVSOM, I entered the new Problem Based Learning program. It appealed to me because, like programming code, it taught medicine in a self-directed algorithmic way. I had a bit of trouble starting out, particularly with the anatomy course. However, I was able to pull myself together and get thru my first two years with a B average.