Advice for Students: PharmD, MD, PharmD vs. MD

samisab786

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman undergraduate student in a six-year PharmD program. Here is some general advice for those contemplating on pharmacy or medicine but have not decided yet.

I'm sure many of you are in high school, so here is a head's up: high school, to be honest, isn't the best indicator of what you want to be in the future. Although I spent many years in high school listing my future career pathways, I am here today in college more undecided than ever before. High school's primary purpose in our education system is to prepare you for the fast-pace of college and learning skills you will need to succeed. As far as what I have experienced, in college, I am so far receiving no homework. Sounds pretty chill, right? Well, I can't believe I am saying this now, but I actually miss having homework. In college you discipline yourself: You will read your textbooks at your own discretion. You will go to lectures and can't guarantee yourself to have an amazing professor, even if you go to a good school. I used to like raising my hand in class and participating because it kept me awake and helped me learn, but in a class with almost 200 kids, that is not always possible. I am not trying to demean any of you. I am sure that many of you are very intelligent people and can make it through. But don't assume that high school is the arena to start your career preparation: because college requires a different learning experience that branches off what you've acquired in high school, your passions will most likely unfold in your first couple of years in college.

With that said, some of you may be looking forward to getting into 6-year PharmD programs or MD programs or pre-pharmacy/pre-medicine pathways. The advantages of these programs are:

• Shortened time
  • Direct pathway to what you want to do (as in, no worries about entrance exams, future applications, etc.)