International Students who have made it to US Medical Schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BritIndian

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Friends,

I am an International Student, currently pursuing an undergraduate bachelors degree in Science in the United States. I plan to go to Medical School here.

After hours and hours of searching the web, I've been fed up by the inconsistencies and ambiguities present in relation to International Students and Medical School.

I've created this thread in hope that those International Students who have actually been accepted into US Medical Schools will briefly explain and state their methods and strategies in doing so. I really want to know what these International MD students did in terms of GPA, MCAT, Extra-curriculars, Volunteering and Research.

Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
A friend of mine is an international student (she came to the US to get her bachelor's) and will be attending med school here as well. I'll tell you this: it's a difficult road. She was a stellar applicant that got interviews at all of the top schools and, had she not been an international student, I'm convinced she would've gotten in. I think she was ultimately accepted to two schools after interviewing at maybe 10 or so.

You need to be sure to APPLY BROADLY and, most importantly, have your funding sources set up. You probably won't get any significant aid from schools and will be responsible for getting all of that set up yourself.

Best of luck. It's an uphill battle.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I remember data being posted by Catalysk (sp) that non-Canadian internationals who got accepted had something like ~33 mean MCAT and ~3.8 mean GPA. This is about 2 MCAT points higher and 0.15 GPA points higher than the mean GPA/MCAT of US acceptances.

I was a little off. Here it is: