This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ilovegrapesoda

7+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi! Here's my brutal advice in the most frank yet attempting to be helpful manner:

1) Why would you take physics at any of those schools? No one cares where you take physics (with the only exception being a CC), so why would you spend an incredible amount of money on courses and room and board there? The experience, to me, would suck, be harder than necessary, and risk destroying your BCPM gpa for no reason.

2) How do you intend to take physics (let alone at one of the schools you mentioned) AND study for the MCAT? I studied 3 months for it without any distractions and didn't even perform my best the first time I took it (just my personal experience). Maybe you can do all that, but I don't see why you would put yourself through it.

3) C is by far the best option. Go to the university near home, take physics 1 and 2. Crush it, get an A both semesters, lab and lecture. Not sure how you plan on studying the MCAT at the same time, to be honest, but maybe you can handle that sort of course load. I suggest taking the MCAT after you've had a generous amount of time without anything else going on in your life, if possible.

4) I repeat, no one cares where you take a couple courses (and to be honest, I've found surprisingly, adcoms generally don't care too too too much about where you even went to undergrad, as long as you do well, with few exceptions).

I hope this helps! And for full disclosure, I have been very fortunate to receive some interviews from medical schools having done exactly what I recommend above, and know many others who have done the same.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)