2 year MA/Pre-Health Program vs Reapply

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

laser813

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I graduated in May of 2021 and applied while doing a gap year working in both a hospital and a lab. I planned to apply to more schools, but due to my financial situation and my own idiocy I only ended up completing 6 applications. I received 2 interviews, one from the school associated with the hospital I worked at and the other from my alma mater. I ended up with one R and one WL, and have not been called off the waitlist.
My MCAT score (shown below) was unbalanced and the 124 in C/P certainly hurt me, along with a C in my freshman year Gen Chem 1 course. That combined with my poor application distribution and other deficiencies certainly led to my demise this cycle.
I have been gearing up to reapply and looking for a gap year job in the clinical field. I applied for and have interviewed for an interesting Scribe/MA position that also has an associated Pre-Health program. However, they require a two-year commitment for the program. Essentially I would be brought on as a scribe, and receive training and certification to become a MA for a dermatology clinic. Then after a year, they would give me advisement, writing help, and a letter of recommendation (from the MD I would be working under) for the application cycle in 2023. I would then continue working there until 2024 and leave for school (hopefully).
I am torn on whether to reapply more broadly (including shadowing a DO and adding lots of DO schools for this cycle) or possibly pursue this program and potentially retake my MCAT with the added time I would have. Any advice would be helpful.
My stats:

23, ORM, cGPA- 3.7 sGPA- 3.5 MCAT: 1st try in 2020- 503, 2nd try in 2021- 510 (124,130,129,127).