2020 OAT EXPERIENCE (99th percentile!!!)

123buck

Reaction score
Hey guys! This is my first time posting here so I hope I do an okay job. I took the test July 24th, 2020 and I thought I would share my experience in hopes that I can help some of you out :) (sorry this is so long, I tried to only include what I thought would help but it still ended up being very long lol)

DISCLAIMER: Everyone is different, some people require more time and others require less. I did well in my undergrad courses and felt comfortable with most of the material. I took physics this past year so it was fresh in my mind, and the courses in my degree are very physiology heavy so it made studying for biology more doable. It is easy to compare yourselves to others, but at the end of the day, OAT scores and GPA are not everything, and you have to be proud of yourself no matter what!

First, the breakdown of my practice scores compared to the real OAT. Like everyone else said, the real OAT is MUCH easier than the Kaplan practice (especially physics) so don’t get too stressed about your practice exam scores.

Kaplan1/Kaplan2/Kaplan3/Kaplan5/FreeADA///Real OAT (percentile)
Bio: 390/350/390/360/380///400 (99)
GChem: 360/390/340/370/380///400 (99)
OChem: 310/370/340/370/390///380 (92)
RC: 370/390/380/390/400///400 (99)
Physics: 290/320/350/370/390///400 (99)
QR: 340/370/350/350/390///400 (99)
AA: 340/370/360/370//390///400 (99)
TS: 350/370/(didn’t show)/390/400///400 (99)

Study schedule: I started at the end of April after my final exams. During this time, I took a 6-week spring course so there were a few weeks where I barely studied for the OAT. I studied for a total of 266 hours (I keep track using timers and a journal) with an average of 19 hours per week (14 weeks total).