2022 OAT Breakdown (Score: 340 AA/350 TS)

icypremium

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I took my OAT this November. Reading other people’s breakdowns really helped with my own preparation so I thought I’d share how I studied as well.

Study Material:
I solely used OATBooster because it was highly recommended by other pre-optom students, and after having used it myself, I also highly recommend it! The practice tests and cheat sheets (especially for organic chemistry and biology) were very helpful as they focus on high-yield topics.

Study Timeline:
I spent a few days in June and July studying for the exam, but I really started studying continuously in August. Then due to school starting up again in September, I resumed studying for the OAT in November. I started by following the recommended 8-week study schedule, but due to life getting in the way, I ended up straying from it and did whatever worked for me. In total, I spent 198.75 hours studying for the OAT.

Prior Background Knowledge:
Your background in each subject affects how hard you need to study for each section, so definitely consider that when planning your own study schedule.

For some background on me, I had taken orgo I last year (and not orgo II at all) so although I had been introduced to the reaction mechanisms, I still needed a refresher. I had a strong background in general chemistry due to years of taking chemistry courses in high school and university. I had just taken physics so that was pretty fresh in my mind, and I am a biology major.

QR (Scored 320):