24 MCAT, Illinois resident, 3.8 GPA chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whataremychances1@gmail

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, here are my stats:
MCAT:24
PS: 10 VR: 5!! BS: 9
Highly competitive research internships at Duke University and Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.
Hispanic

GPA: 3.86
Upper division honors graduate
great EC's and volunteering, and a lot of research
Great LOR's from Hopkins and Northern Illinois (where I graduated)

Granted I was scoring low on verbal during my practice tests, but never (5) low.
Do I have ANY chances for in state MD schools or D.O?

Thanks in advance for the input.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
yeh, had a 102 fever that day but decided to score it and see what happens. It's not representative of my ability but the science scores were. After taking a few months off from studying I'm worried my science scores will drop.

Lethal for MD schools; you might have some luck at DO schools, especially the newer ones, so apply broadly. Skip the Touros, CCOM and Western.

Okay, here are my stats:
Highly competitive research internships at Duke University and Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.
Hispanic

Granted I was scoring low on verbal during my practice tests, but never (5) low.

Okay, here are my stats:
Hispanic

I have no idea what the criteria is for DO schools, but I honestly don't think that you have any chance for MD with a 24 MCAT. Sorry. Best, bet is to retake.

Would anyone suggest submitting my AMCAS now, but telling med schools I will be retaking? seems to be the best option.

Members don't see this ad :)
Would anyone suggest submitting my AMCAS now, but telling med schools I will be retaking? seems to be the best option.
Can't imagine why... They won't look at your app until the score is back. Just apply next year!

It will just be late in the app cycle, and I don't foresee a 10 point improvement by then