2nd bachelor's for prereq's- what major?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

echidna

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I apologize if this has been answered before, but a cursory glance at the archives doesn't address this issue specifically.

In short, I'll be graduating this Spring with a humanities degree (~3.9 GPA from UC) and have no science classes since high school, from which I graduated in 2002. I'm planning on a DIY basic sciences series beginning winter 2008 at local (cal state) university (Fall is impossible since I'll be abroad until mid-august and have a lot of math to catch up on). Through their concurrent enrollment/"Open University" program, I can take classes a la carte for around $700 per course plus $300 or so for labs, space permitting. However, I've heard that enrolling in a second bachelors gives one better priority for enrollment in classes and better access to financial aid, advising services, and other undergraduate benefits.

The question is this: if I were to enroll in a 2nd bacc, what major would I declare? The admissions department told me that for anything science-related I'd need the science prereq's before I transferred, rendering the whole issue moot. Do I declare in something like English Lit and take sciences for 2 years and then drop the degree (and would the registrar notice such an incongruent lineup)? Or is this only a possibility for those who have a science background already?

Thanks in advance for reading my post- this website is such a fantastic resource without which I'd be completely lost.

Members don't see this ad.

Couple things to consider before you jump into another 2nd bachelors:

1. Peace Corps! Great time in your life to do it! Makes you interesting among all the paint-by-numbers other applicants! Learn a 2nd language! If there's one thing I wish I could go back and do, that's the one.