• Set Yourself Up For Success Webinar

October 6, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/11 AM Pacific
    SDN and Osmosis are teaming up to help you get set up for success this school year! We'll be covering study tips, healthy habits, and meeting mentors.

Register Now!

• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

2nd year PhD student applying to MD PhD programs

Unconditionalloves

Apr 27, 2020
West Coast
  1. Pre-Medical
I am a 2nd year PhD student however my PI during the first year left the university and l was forcerd to chose a different one. My new lab is a total joke.. my plan was always to do my PhD and apply to medical school right after instead of a traditional MD/PHD.. now o have decided the wait is pointless and I am applying to hot MD only and MD/PHD programs... has anyone seen this done successfully in the past? I will appreciate your advice.
GPA 3.8 Sci GPA 3.9
MCAT pending Grad only GPA 3.7 Non-traditional with 6 years of research experience both in academia and industry 2 abstracts 1 publication.
2.5 years of clinical experience including 6 months of direct patient care on a community-based clinic.
2 travel awards
Undergrad student leadership appointments Undergrad diverse community volunteer experiences ~6 months
Bilingual
Thank you for your help...
@Fencer

Neuronix

Total nerd
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
15+ Year Member
Mar 14, 2002
the beach
  1. Attending Physician
Need MCAT score to comment on your chances.

I think most MD/PhD programs are reluctant to take someone actively within a graduate program. Can you switch to graduate with an MS without burning any bridges? This will help wrap things up for applying MD/PhD.

Seihai

The dog is always the real hero.