81 reads and not one comment. Those handsome devils who wrote "PhD syndrome" sorta look familar...............maybe not??

About the Ads

QPublic

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Nov 22, 2005
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Well-said! I really appreciated the article and would like to see something like that more widely-disseminated. The syndrome is so pervasive in work settings, in my view.

Lunabin

10+ Year Member
Jun 7, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Other Health Professions Student
I wasn't sure which article this post was referring to, but really loved the "Ph.D. Syndrome" article.

Personally, I see this problem everyday in practice. As an intern, I am not a doctor yet, and am uncomfortable using such a title... and yet, find that if I present myself as a "doctoral candidate" or "completing my doctorate" - then I get much more respect (particularly from physicians).

I like that the article presents practical ways to become more proficient and confident in medical knowledge. It would be great to see more psychologists (especially in medical settings, but even in academia/training) use more advanced medical terminology and converse in their discussion of cases. Too often, I see supervisors and professors "dumbing down" their language with this material - we should really be setting a higher bar in academia for proficiency in medical science.

GiantSteps

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 7, 2007
Status (Visible)
Why are no numbers/ data given on the prevalence of this Ph.D. Syndrome? How many psychologists are really complaining?

So is there a corollary syndrome "MD Syndrome" or "MSW Syndrome" which would be experienced if a psychiatrist or social worker came into a research setting?

I wonder if the psychologists who are getting limited prescription capabilities are more immune to this?

Therapist4Chnge

Neuropsych Ninja
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Oct 7, 2006
The Beach
Status (Visible)
  1. Psychologist