460k in Student Loans - Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rightonn_dude

Bagel Technician
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Bonjour!

Looking for some advice here as residency comes to an end. I'm an CA3 Anesthesiology Resident. I just checked my student loan status and saw that I'm in the black hole $460,000. FOUR HUNDRED SIXTY THOUSAND DOLLARS. It's terrible. Horrible. HORRENDOUS. So much for that shiny Rolex and speedy 911 I was planning on getting as a personal reward when this hell is all said and done.

I'd like to get this paid down ASAP and looking to you gurus for any advice. I signed a contract for 400k, with the potential to take more call to make some extra cheese, which I'll be doing as much as I can. Hopefully, with a decent amount of call (which sounds horrible, probably 70 hour weeks) I can pull north of 450k. If I forego my vacation, maybe even more via locus or selling it in my group.

Potential Plan
Work like a dog :((
Live like a resident =((((
Max retirement accounts
Cut a stupid steep check every month
Hopefully get this ****storm over with in a 4 years

Any advice other advice would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Looks like you have good grip on what your going to need to do.....live like a resident, work like a resident and get that behind you. Plenty of my clients have just acted like that was some other bill and 15-20 years later still paying on it and not one of them have ever said "I sure am glad I did not get that paid off by now". You will get it, just stay focused! Finally don't let someone talk you into an investment that eats capital or some life policy that is cash value....that is the last thing you need right now.

Reactions: 2 users
Bonjour!