5 year programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Offline PK

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm still seeking some insight on this, and perhaps others have wondered the same thing: Are 5 year program applicants generally successful, or is it wishful thinking? I've heard that 5 year programs are reserved for those in university, but prior to graduating (which would be most peculiar)

I graduated without taking two classes essential for the MCAT (physics and orgo). Thus, I applied to the 5 year programs. I will happily delete the thread if this has already been touched upon.

I'm from: New York

My country of citizenship is: USA + Republic of Ireland

Undergraduate degree: B.S. Psychology, cum laude

At this University: State University of New York (SUNY), Cortland

My GPA was: 3.4 cumulative, 3.54 major (concentration in neuroscience). Strong upward trend in the final 2 years, I despised my original major.

My MCAT Scores were: Not Taken. Took 1 year gen chem, 1 year gen bio, stats, calc, lots of english, neuroscience, psychopharmacology and other science courses.

Extracurricular/Awards: ~400 volunteer hours at community hospital, Summer internship in Psychiatry @ NY Presbyterian-letter of recommendation 1 (for credit), 3x neuroscience studies author-letter of recommendation 2 (2 likely to be published), inducted into tri-beta biological honor society, 4x dean's list, student observer in nuclear medicine and radiology, assisting visually impaired professor with writing a book on cognitive linguistics, secular club treasurer, teaching assistant for behavioral neuroscience, and a partridge in a pear tree.

I applied to: TCD, NUIG, RCSI, UCD-Late application to UCD in mid-January (5 year programs)
I was interviewed for:
I was accepted at:
I was waitlisted at:
I was rejected from:

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: