6 Attending Paychecks later - 195k student loans wiped out

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cyanide12345678

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here's a little post for inspiration. I personally don't understand when people take 10+ years to pay off their student loans. Financial independence is key so you don't HAVE to work, but you work because you WANT to work.

In total I had acquired about 175-180k of debt, after interest in total I paid $195K roughly.15-20k of this was college, the rest med school. I was a completely traditional student - no career prior to college or med school. In fact, I had moved from the other side of the world for college as a freshmen and that itself came with it's culture shock, social and financial challenges.

Things that helped me pay off student debt this quickly.

1) Less debt than most people mostly because of scholarships/need based aid in college. In state tuition in a cheap texas med school ~ 17-18k annual tuition.

2) Lived very cheaply in college and med school. I did max out on loans in med school, but I basically had an excess 8-10K every year, most of that was invested in the market. I did not know the boglehead principles at that time, I was not a believer of buy and hold strategy, but I still made some small amounts of money. I owned Tesla at $80, FB at $26, Amazon at $230. But as a broke med student, when I made 10% or so on my investments, I happily took the profits. If I had done buy and hold, the 30k that I had invested at some point in the market would have been 200K today. My two investment accounts were both margin accounts, I did swing trading (scraped small profits anytime that I got them). Only made a few thousand dollars - but learned a lot about investing over the years and now I'm a full supporter of a boring 3 fund portfolio and believer of the boglehead philosophy.