6 months since jobless..i'm an incompetent pharmacist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

depressed pharmacist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am not sure where to post this, but since i've gotten many help and mental support from SDN, I am just here to vent out the struggle that I have not been able to tell anyone. I also have lots of my classmates reading this forum, so if my identity or information i give you seems vague, i apologize in advance.

(I just wanted to start off that this thread is not about pharmacist's job market.)

I am a recent grad of 2015, took my boards, and I thought my life was going to be just fine, worry-free.

I got my first job as a pharmacist, but six month later I was fired for incompetency due to mistakes and issues with co-workers. Ever since then I attempted to find a job, but at this point I am not even trying to find a job, I am just living with my family like a parasite.

I got really good evaluations and graduated with a decent GPA. I was a good student at school or at rotation site, but when it comes to working and getting a job....i've been really bad at it. i had about two internships, and they didn't want to hire me.

One thing I don't understand about myself is that i keep making mistakes. additionally, despite of 6 years of pharmacy school, and despite the fact that I passed the board exam with good scores (>100), I am still incompetent and I can't give clinical advice. I feel so incompetent and stupid, and i am afraid to even put that pharmacy as a reference or previous work because I know what they are going to say. I think part of the reason that my job interview was bad was because they didn't give me a good referral. If I don't include my previous work, that means i haven't had a job since I got licensed; no pharmacy is going to hire me or believe me.