9/3/11 DAT Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

crackedbytheDAT

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Breakdown: AA: 22 (97), TS: 23 (98.1), PAT: 25 (99)

I studied for about 2 months and about 5 weeks really hardcore at the end. About 8 hrs a day, except Sunday for about 5 hours.

OC: DAT Destroyer is the way to go, but like some people have already said, use it as a textbook and not like a question book. Read and really understand the concepts behind the questions. For my version of the test, some of the questions were kinda random and not covered in Destroyer. However, I think that a 20+ is more than attainable with this resource. KBB is a fat waste of time if you even have a mediocre understanding of orgo like I did before studying for this test. I have only taken one semester and my teacher was just out to fail people for fun, but I still don't think that the KBB taught me a whole lot.

GC: Similar to above. Dat Destroyer all the way. The test is relatively straight forward. There are a few concepts that are a little more obscure but Destroyer covers those.

Bio: Topscore and the 2 free tests on DatQVault. DatQVault's questions are veryyy similar to the DAT. If I were to give this test again, I would certainly buy the full test. It's a good investment.

RC: Do all of the TopScore tests to prepare for this section. I've heard CDR is good but I didn't buy it so I can't review it. TopScore can be completely search and destroyed, but I wouldn't recommend that strategy. The passages on TopScore are more challenging than the real thing, but the real thing has more inference questions so Search and Destroy isn't as effective. I just wrote small notes for each paragraph and after reading the passage in 7-9 minutes I answered all the questions. I didn't get the physics passage thankfully.