A Bit Worried

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UpQuark

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to SDN so I apologize in advance if I am posting a very commonly asked question in regards to my undergrad institution.

I am currently a sophomore at the University of Cincinnati, holding out on a 3.94 GPA and have done about 50 hours of clinical volunteering at a hospital last year. I recently started working in a research lab.

I've been browsing these forums for about a day or so and I've been having mixed feelings about my chances in getting into top 20 medical schools because of the name of my university. I hear, and have seen, that the majority of students attending these Top-20 schools are from highly ranked undergraduate universities with good reputations. UC may not be as recognized, but I do feel that the university is doing a terrific job in improving its academics (and recently our football team, go bearcats!). Moreover, I chose UC because of the many opportunities that I noticed the school had to offer particularly in undergraduate research (UC has been ranked as a Top 20 public research university) - all it took was one email and I was given a position in a research lab at UC College of medicine. Volunteering was no big deal as I already have a position at University Hospital, and again, it was easy to get. Moreover, I have met some amazing professors which have made my experience enjoyable.