A few important questions about CC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shane7227

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Closed thread

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hello, I am new here, but have browsed through the forums a lot in the past. I am currently going to a CC in Oklahoma. I have most of my prerequisites done and basically lack my organic chemistry's, general chemistry 2, Calculus, and Physics. I was admitted to Oklahoma University for Fall 2012, but I decided to back out and finish another semester at my local CC college. I chose this decision because it is a relatively small college, and I can get extra help if needed, it is free for me to go to the CC though my grants and Federal Student Aid, and because I have been a pharmacy technician for 2 years at Wal-Mart, and they work with my hours with school. I am wanting to transfer and finish my last semester of college at OU. So basically, I am wondering who all has gotten in Pharmacy School by going to a CC in the past? I am going to apply for both SWOSU and OU pharmacy school. My GPA is around a 3.8 and I am at Sophomore level. I have not taken the PCAT test yet. Would my chances be good if I do well on my PCAT, keep my GPA up, and have very good LoR's with almost 3 years experience as a Pharmacy Technician even though I've taken most of my courses at CC?

This question depends on your pharmacy school's requirement. You need to get in touch with them and ask if CC courses are applicable to pre-reqs. There is a good chance that they are, especially if the pharmacy school is in the same state as the CC.