adulteration vs misbranding

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

khydroxide

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am studying several different sources for the ny mpje and i am still kinda confused over adulteration vs misbranding and when it's BOTH. Could someone who has a good understanding of the material post some specific examples of each?

Adulterated: not as labeled, differs in strength, quality or purity from that represented or containing filthy, putrid or decomposed substances.

Misbranded: false label statements about the identity or ingredients of the contained drugs

Are these accurate definitions?
It says adulterated = not as labeled which sounds pretty much like misbranded to me.

Any help would be appreciated. taking my law exam on friday =T

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
from what I understand

Adulterated is like having junks (not 100% pure) in your products. (intentionally or not). For example, someone intentionally open up an otc 50 tabs aspirin bottle and put in 50 tabs of advils and sell it as a 100tabs of ASA... OR a bottle of Gingko extract is 75% Gingko tabs and 20% Ginger tabs and 5% garbages... That's adulterated or tempered.

Misbranding in other hand, is like putting something in the ingredients list but the bottle containing different ingredients OR making false claims or false statements about your products. For example, the bottle of Gingko claims to cure Alzheimer's. OR, the bottle of fish oil claiming that's its ingredients containing Alaskan King Salmon fish oil but in fact it contain Rock Cod fish oil.

Hope it helps.

Last edited:
Hi,
from what I understand